Antiparos is a small island off the south-west coast of Paros. It is thinly populated, with small beaches and a famous cave full of remarkable stalactites and stalagmites.
Although small, Antiparos can get very busy in the summer as tourists cross the narrow channel, mainly to visit the caves and the village port of Antiparos, also called the Chora
Chora is a straggling port with a central square packed with shops and tavernas. A few bars and clubs that liven up at the height of the summer season and local beaches are popular for beach parties.
Antiparos is about 12 kilometres long and 5 kilometres wide with the peak of Profitis Elia rising up over a mainly barren volcanic landscape.
A drive to the southern tip of the island takes about 20 minutes where there is a good beach at Agios Georgios with views to the uninhabited islet of Despotiko, an important archaeological site.
The main attraction of Antiparos is the large cave system with its many impressive stalactites. The cave is reached down a narrow, winding staircase and, despite the damage done down the years particularly by Russian, German and Italian soldiers, many impressive sights remain.
Graffiti carved into the formations include those made by Bishop De Gabrie in 1673 and the Greek King Otto in 1840.
Antipaxos is a little too large to walk around and although there is a bus connecting Chora to the cave, visitors looking to explore the rest of the island will need a car or bike.